Doorda Knowledge Base
Geo-Demographic Articles
Standard Occupational Classification Explained
Viewed 61 times since Wed, Oct 31, 2018
Standard Occupational Classification divided occupations into 9 major groups, 25 sub major groups, and 90 minor groups.     Read More
Household Income
Viewed 97 times since Mon, Jul 23, 2018
The Household income data contains statistics of model-based small area income estimates for the financial years 2011/12, 2013/14 and most recent publication of 2015/16. The small area income estimates are available for middle layer super output... Read More
Household Spend
Viewed 9 times since Tue, Jun 19, 2018
Household spending is taken from the annual Living Costs and Food Survey (LCF) which is a voluntary sample survey of private households. This allows you to view the average spend in 14 groups and 155 subcategories (= Number of Commodities and... Read More
Occupations - NS-SEC
Viewed 165 times since Tue, Jan 30, 2018
The National Statistics European Socio‑economic Classification (NS-SEC) has been constructed to measure the employment relations and conditions of occupations. Conceptually, these are central to showing the structure of socio-economic positions in... Read More
Definition of a Household
Viewed 169 times since Tue, Jan 30, 2018
In general census data tends to be split between residents (people) and households (homes). Households are counted as the number of occupied and unoccupied locations based on the household size, housing tenure and the number of children living in... Read More
Social Grades
Viewed 174 times since Tue, Jan 30, 2018
Social Grade is the socio-economic classification used by the Market Research and Marketing Industries, most often in the analysis of spending habits and consumer attitudes as summarised below.Click on the social class for more details. GradeSocial... Read More
Output Area Classifications
Viewed 199 times since Tue, Jan 30, 2018
The following pen portraits describe the clusters that make up the 2011 Area Classification for Output Areas (OAC), mapped to postcodes, providing an informal view of the characteristics of each cluster. The OAC is a hierarchical classification,... Read More
Seven domains of deprivation
Viewed 213 times since Tue, Jan 30, 2018
The English Indices of Deprivation 2015 (IMD) is an overall relative measure of deprivation constructed by combining seven domains of deprivation according to their respective weights, as described below. The seven domains of deprivation are as... Read More
English Indices of Deprivation 2015
Viewed 347 times since Tue, Jan 30, 2018
Since the 1970s the Department for Communities and Local Government and its predecessors have calculated local measures of deprivation in England. This release contains the latest version of these statistics, the English Indices of Deprivation 2015... Read More